Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences ( is developing a unique, accelerated Doctor of Occupational Therapy program in the summer of 2016. Drake University is recognized as one of the finest institutions of higher learning in the Midwest. A mid-sized, private university in Des Moines, Iowa, they offer the benefits and resources of a larger institution along with the advantages of intimate class sizes and close personal relationships. Drake's mission is to provide an exceptional learning environment that prepares students for meaningful personal lives, professional accomplishments, and responsible global citizenship. The Drake experience is distinguished by collaborative learning among students, faculty, and staff and by the integration of the liberal arts and sciences with professional preparation. Drake is currently looking for occupational therapists for three full-time positions: Director, Fieldwork Coordinator, and Faculty Member (click here for further information). Drake University's program will be the third occupational therapy program in Iowa which includes St. Ambrose University in Davenport (moving to an OTD in the near future) and Allen College in Waterloo (masters degree).


Benefits of Membership

Membership in IOTA is growing. This is great news since IOTA is a member-driven organization and relies on the members to operate.  Membership dues are used to provide a fall conference, employing a lobbyist to protect consumers and the profession, scholarships, communication through website and newsletters, and encourages networking and professional growth.

Go to the Membership Page to join or renew today (credit cards accepted).


Current IOTA Bylaws allow ballot, mail, or electronic elections only to change the Bylaws but not to conduct elections.  The proposed changes to the bylaws (click here for a copy) will allow eligible IOTA members to vote for officers using ballot, mail, or electronic methods.  Please VOTE to indicate if you agree or disagree with these changes. IOTA members eligible to vote (OT & OTA) can click here to cast your ballot.